SJL carpentry and building services

This account is closed.

My name is Sam Lewis I am 20 years old live in Potters Bar, Hertfordshire. I left school at 16 and began work a few months later, as a general labour, then soon after I began my carpentry apprenticeship passing with credit. I then began working on my own which was successful till I had a football injury, which stopped me from working. I have recently had my operation and now ready to work again. The injury will not hinder me in any way Personality I am a very energetic and hard working person I am driven and try my best all the time. I take a lot of pride in my work always trying to better myself. I have no qualms getting dirty or working outside in the rain. I am very adaptable and will work in most environments. I am also a quick thinker and enjoy the problem solving aspect of carpentry. I also have a good sense of humour and never have come to work in a grumpy mood. I am a good communicator and have no problems talking to anyone. I am also very friendly and get along with most people. I am open minded and have no problems working for people of different cultures and beliefs. I am also a good time keeper and will never be late in the morning or run over on lunch breaks.

Trades

  • 1.Carpenter & Joiner
  • 2.Landscape Gardener
  • 3.Groundworker
  • 4.Fencer
  • 5.Flooring Fitter
  • 6.Driveway Paver
  • 7.Demolition Contractor
  • 8.Painter & Decorator
  • 9.Restoration & Refurb Specialist
  • 10.Insulation Installer
  • 11.Window Fitter

About SJL carpentry and building services

I worked at the construction company Andrews & Dickens from October. This is where learned the bulk of my carpentry knowledge as I went through my apprenticeship here.
While at Andrews and Dickens I carried out nearly all aspects of carpentry and for the 1st few moths I was a labourer
The Company took on large residential and some commercial projects. The usual job was to demolish and build a new home, which I worked on 5 different sites. There were other jobs we took on such as extensions two of which involved pools, Garden decking, conversion of a listed building into a modern office block, the conversion of old warehouse into an office block, loft conversions, conservatories, fencing and front gates, and the conversion of a old house into a modern nursery.
I then began working for myself after my weekends and evenings became packed with private jobs. When I first started it was mainly maintenance; replacing doors, skirting, architrave and other 2nd fix carpentry. The first large job I had was a complete residential refurbishment including a loft conversion, replacing all 2nd fix wood, knocking down a wall and building a new one replacing the ceilings and fitting floating shelves. Part of that job was to replace and bathroom which required me to work very closely with a tiller and plumber, as the client went away and it was the only bathroom it would have to be completed in a weekend. This job was also where I got my first decorating experience as I work with the decorator to finish the job.
My next job was to design, build, decorate and paint a 5m x 2m MDF TV cabinet. I proudly completed this in 5 days to a very high standard.
I then moved on to another large job which required me to split a large office in an office block into 4 rooms using metal stud partitions, containing 2 windows and 1 hour fire proof doors. I also had to use fire proof plaster board. This job also required me to be a decorator. I finished this job on time and in budget and because of that in the same office block I was required to replace all work benches and shelves.
I then went on to replace rotten facia boards around a very large house. That also required me to paint and decorate them.

Qualifications

Level 2 NVQ in Wood Occupations and Site Carpentry
City and guilds intermediate construction award for site carpentry (passed with credit)
Level 1 key Skills in Application of Number
Level 1 Key Skills in Communication
I also have my CSCS card
The aspects of carpentry I believe I am accomplished in are as follows;
Truss roofs
Roof insulating (both insulation board and fibre glass matting)
Fascia and Suffix boards
Windows
Window sills
Shuttering
Metal and wooden stud work (partitions)
Metal and Wooden ceiling Battening (false ceilings)
Dry lining (plaster boarding)
Decking
Joists
Floor boards
Hand rails (interior/exterior)
Door linings
Doors
Architrave
Skirting
Kitchen units (wall and floor)
Pelmets
Hardy backer boards (tile board)
Boxing in a bath/toilet
Shelves (all kinds)
Flat packs
Worktops (kitchen and office)
And many more if you require a certain skill please ring me and I will be honest about how accomplished I am in that area
The areas of decorating I feel accomplished are
Walls and Ceilings
Interior woodwork
Exterior woodwork
Masonry
Painting rendered walls